The corner of Main Street and Great Hill Road may have seemed quiet the winter of 2015, but renovation has been progressing inside the Hall-Dyer House, future home of the Tamworth History Center. While this work is only Phase 1 of three planned renovation phases, the goal was met to open several ground-floor rooms, part-time, to help celebrate the Town’s 250th in the Summer.
In the old house we’ve uncovered wide board paneling, unusual framing, split board lath, and evidence of mysterious earlier staircases. The c. 1830 building has its own stories to tell. We look forward to sharing them.
But this won’t be a traditional house museum, with period rooms, like the Historical Society’s previous building on Greg’s Way. The main focus will be the many stories that have made Tamworth unique, from 1766 onwards. You can help us design a media-rich, interactive center, with changing offerings. Visitors of all ages will be able to discover ‘the Tamworth story’ through selected artifacts from THC’s collection, but also via audio recollections, big-screen videos, and more, created in part by townspeople. Explore town and area history online using the NH State Historical Society website, New England Ancestors.org, and links. Or travel Tamworth via Google Earth, and other modalities as yet unknown!
In the Spring of 2016, thanks to a grant from The Tamworth Foundation, working with professionals from the NH Preservation Alliance and Full Circle Consulting, the History Center will develop a strategic plan. With strong organizational, outreach and fund-raising initiatives, we’ll bring alive our big vision.